Patchwork MIPS: add <dt-bindings/> symlink

login
register
mail settings
Submitter James Hogan
Date 2013-08-21 02:08:02
Message ID <1377095762-18926-1-git-send-email-james.hogan@imgtec.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/5745/
State Accepted
Delegated to: Ralf Baechle
Headers show

Comments

James Hogan - 2013-08-21 02:08:02
Add symlink to include/dt-bindings from arch/mips/boot/dts/include/ to
match the ones in ARM and Meta architectures so that preprocessed device
tree files can include various useful constant definitions.

See commit c58299a (kbuild: create an "include chroot" for DT bindings)
merged in v3.10-rc1 for details.

MIPS structures it's dts files a little differently to other
architectures, having a separate dts directory for each SoC/platform,
but most of the definitions in the dt-bindings/ directory are common so
for now lets just have a single "include chroot" for all MIPS platforms.

Signed-off-by: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com>
Reviewed-by: Steven. J. Hill <steven.hill@imgtec.com>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com>
Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Cc: Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org>
Cc: Ian Campbell <ian.campbell@citrix.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@arm.com>
Cc: Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com>
Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org
---
 arch/mips/boot/dts/include/dt-bindings | 1 +
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)
 create mode 120000 arch/mips/boot/dts/include/dt-bindings

\ No newline at end of file
Stephen Warren - 2013-08-21 06:08:34
On 08/21/2013 08:36 AM, James Hogan wrote:
> Add symlink to include/dt-bindings from arch/mips/boot/dts/include/ to
> match the ones in ARM and Meta architectures so that preprocessed device
> tree files can include various useful constant definitions.
> 
> See commit c58299a (kbuild: create an "include chroot" for DT bindings)
> merged in v3.10-rc1 for details.
> 
> MIPS structures it's dts files a little differently to other
> architectures, having a separate dts directory for each SoC/platform,
> but most of the definitions in the dt-bindings/ directory are common so
> for now lets just have a single "include chroot" for all MIPS platforms.

Acked-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com>
root - 2013-09-03 03:09:58
On Wed, Aug 21, 2013 at 12:24:34PM -0600, Stephen Warren wrote:

> On 08/21/2013 08:36 AM, James Hogan wrote:
> > Add symlink to include/dt-bindings from arch/mips/boot/dts/include/ to
> > match the ones in ARM and Meta architectures so that preprocessed device
> > tree files can include various useful constant definitions.
> > 
> > See commit c58299a (kbuild: create an "include chroot" for DT bindings)
> > merged in v3.10-rc1 for details.
> > 
> > MIPS structures it's dts files a little differently to other
> > architectures, having a separate dts directory for each SoC/platform,
> > but most of the definitions in the dt-bindings/ directory are common so
> > for now lets just have a single "include chroot" for all MIPS platforms.
> 
> Acked-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com>

Applied - but I'd be happier if there was a way of achiving the same thing
without symlinks.

  Ralf

Patch

diff --git a/arch/mips/boot/dts/include/dt-bindings b/arch/mips/boot/dts/include/dt-bindings
new file mode 120000
index 0000000..08c00e4
--- /dev/null
+++ b/arch/mips/boot/dts/include/dt-bindings
@@ -0,0 +1 @@ 
+../../../../../include/dt-bindings